Cuba ratifies Africa-Caribbean-Pacific cooperation mechanism

Cuba ratified today the revised Georgetown Agreement to confirm its commitment in solidarity and cooperation as part of the Organization of African, Caribbean and Pacific States (OASCP), made up of 79 developing countries.
The island’s ambassador to Belgium and to the European Union (EU), Yaira Jimenez, deposited the instrument of ratification in this capital, where the entity founded in 1975 has its headquarters, and which is aimed at sustainable development, the participation of its members in the global economy and the eradication of poverty.
The legal advisor of the Oeacp Secretariat, Emmanuel Opuko Awuku, received the original document signed by Cuba, which had already delivered a digital version in October.
Cuba underscored its adherence to the principles of the organization, which adopted its current name with the entry into force of the revised Georgetown Agreement in April 2000.
Created in 1975, through the Lome Convention, a trade and cooperation agreement between the European Union and the African, Caribbean and Pacific States, the Oeacp has a clear position of rejection to the economic, commercial and financial blockade of the United States against Cuba.
In 1998, the island joined it as an observer and in 2000 as a full member.
Besides sustainable development, integration into the global economy and the fight against poverty, the organization advocates peace, stability, multilateralism, free and democratic societies, and the empowerment of youth and women.


Prensa Latina